Niagara Ice Hockey Team: Niagara IceDogs



The Niagara IceDogs are a major junior ice hockey team in the Ontario Hockey League based in St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada. The franchise was originally known as the Mississauga IceDogs and founded in 1996. The team was relocated to St. Catharines and played its inaugural season in the Niagara region during the 2007–08 OHL season after spending 9 seasons in Mississauga. The team is owned by Bill and Denise Burke.


Emms Trophy
Central Division Champions

Bobby Orr Trophy
Eastern Conference Champions


Mario Cicchillo was promoted from assistant coach in 2006–07 for Mississauga, to become the first coach of the Niagara IceDogs after it was announced that head coach Mike Kelly resigned to accept a senior advisory position with the team.[5] In August 2009, Cicchillo was fired and assistant coach Mike McCourt was named interim head coach. In early May 2010, the IceDogs announced that the team would not be renewing the contracts McCourt and his assistants. Former Barrie Colt coach/general manager Marty Williamson was named coach and general manager of the IceDogs in late May 2010.

2007-2009 Mario Cicchillo
2009-2010 Mike McCourt (Interim)
2010–present Marty Williamson

Official Website: