For more than two centuries, McFarland House has stood as a monument to the impeccable manners, good taste and gracious living that epitomizes Niagara-on-the-Lake.Visit us and experience a taste of Georgian style and pace. Qualified costumed interpreters provide guided tours of this historic home throughout the day.
Come visit this gem – built in 1800, the House is the oldest property owned by The Niagara Parks Commission.
Located in a picturesque park setting with playground facilities and a baseball diamond, the House is adjacent to the Niagara River Recreation Trail. McFarland Park also offers a covered picnic pavilion which seats approximately 250 people, with water and washroom facilities nearby.
In preparation for the Bicentennial of the War of 1812 McFarland House has undergone some much needed renovations since last season. This is the first occasion that such large scale improvements have been made to the property. The house was last renovated in 1955 before the site opened to the public in the spring of 1959.
We are very proud of these enhancements to our facilities which will allow us to better serve our guests. We have built a new historically inspired conservatory, created modern washrooms, and drastically renovated the interior spaces within the back wing of the home to make the property more accessible and welcoming for all who come to visit.
We are now closed for the 2012 season but look forward to welcoming our guests back when we re-open on Saturday, May 11, 2013. We will be open seven days a week from Mother’s Day until Labour Day, and weekends from Labour Day unitl Halloween. Please check back in the spring for updates on our new 2013 menu!
McFarland House Facts & Figures
- Built in 1800 by John McFarland and his sons, on land granted to him by King George III
- One of the few buildings in Niagara-on-the-Lake which pre-dates the War of 1812
- Used as a hospital and headquarters for both the British and American armies during the War of 1812. It was also the location of a cannon battery created to protect the Niagara River
- Built on a ravine that was used as the launch point for the British attack on Fort Niagara in 1813
- Beautifully restored by The Niagara Parks Commission and opened to the public in 1959
15927 Niagara Parkway, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada. McFarland House is just a short distance south of Niagara-on-the-Lake on the scenic Niagara Parkway. The main floor of this historic building is wheelchair accessible.
Adults $5.00, children (6 to 12 years) $3.75 (Canadian dollars before taxes). Children 5 years and under are admitted for free at all Niagara Parks attractions!
Hours (subject to change)
We are now closed for the 2012 season, re-opening Saturday, May 11, 2013.
McFarland House is also available for group tours and private events.
Please call (905) 468-3322 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.